Shetland Golf Club
You are here: Home » News » Streamline wins for Jordan and Johnny

Streamline wins for Jordan and Johnny

News Posted: 3rd August 2009

It has been a busy time for golfers at Dale recently with several big competitions taking place in the lead to the Shetland Open.

The extremely popular Streamline Open took place last week with a splendid turnout of 84 golfers turning up to play on a fine summer day. This is always one of the most successful competitions of the year with the sponsors laying on a few extras for the players, the barbecue and drinks tent always being much appreciated by the players. The weather was also kind with the bright conditions bringing out an assortment of pale coloured legs that wouldn’t look out of place on antique furniture.

Once again the scoring was exceptional with the handicap section in particular being closely contested. The winner of the Streamline Handicap Trophy by virtue of a better back nine was Johnny Shing with a round of 85, net 63. In second place with a score of 76, also net 63, was Arthur Williamson. Bruce Crossan continued his fine run with a score of 74, net 64, to take third place while Davy Thomson was in fourth on 75, net 65. In fifth place was John Simpson, 85, net 65.

In the scratch section a sudden death play-off was required to determine the winner with both Michael Boxwell and Jordan Leask returning scores of 70. In the play-off both players secured par on the first two holes but on the third hole Boxwell missed the green with his second shot and bogeyed the hole while Leask’s par was enough to take first place and the Streamline Scratch trophy. Tom Simpson was in third place with a round of 72.

Other prizes went to Ronnie Birnie, who was nearest the pin in two on the third, Stuart Shearer with the longest drive on the eighteenth, Ian Simpson was nearest the pin on the twelfth and Maurice Clark was nearest the pin on the ninth. However, the dry weather had obviously been too much for Ian Leiper’s electric trolley as it decided to go for a dip in the burn on the fifth hole while he wasn’t looking, much to the amusement of his playing partners.

Standing in for the captain, Erik Burgess presented the trophies to the winners with assistance from Streamline’s Ian Adam. He also thanked greens convenor Robbie Jamieson and the green’s staff for the superb condition of the course once again. The club would also like to thank Streamline and their staff for another superb competition day with Streamline also contributing £4 for each player to the CLAN123 fund.

Other recent competitions saw John Nicolson win the Sondeli Trophy on a day of high scoring. His score of 44 stableford points was enough to take first place from Keith Fraser on 43 points with Stewart Tomlinson in third place, also on 43 points.

Bruce Crossan won the July monthly medal with a score of 74, net 63, with Ronnie Birnie in second place on 72, net 64. Mark Gair was third on 84, net 65.

The Johnnie Walker Trophy was then won by Grant Wiseman, 72 net 64 with David Smith in second place, 88 net 65, and Jake Constable was third, 82 net 66.

  • Streamline Open trophy winners 2009  » Click to zoom ->

    Streamline Open trophy winners 2009

  •   » Click to zoom ->