Shetland Golf Club
You are here: Home » News » August Round-up

August Round-up

News Posted: 8th September 2010

Firstly, we must congratulate the respective scratch and handicap club champions this year.  Stuart Anderson claimed the Henry Gilbertson trophy beating Glenn Gilfillan 6 & 4.  Alan Harcus became club champion for the first time by defeating Ross Chisholm 5 & 4 in the final.  A notable achievement for Alan, considering he has not played much golf this year due to other commitments and Ross’s very consistent form during the season.


In the club matchplay competitions Ramsay Hogg defeated Clive Watt 3 & 1 to claim the McVitie & Price trophy, the Bill Farr cup was won by Davie Kirk beating John Mouat 2 & 1 in the final and the Queens Hotel doubles was won by John Collins and Davy Thomson 3 & 1 over Grant Wiseman and Dave McNicol.

August is always a busy month with 3 opens having been played and players trying to make the most of what remains of the summer and enjoy the course while it’s at its best.  It also sees the climax of the Summer League for the Wednesday Sweepstakes.   

Ross Chisholm won the first Wednesday Sweep of the month from Andy Glen after count-back following both players having scored 39 points.  Third, again after count-back, was John Collins with 37 points from T George Leask.  The Sweep on the 18th was cancelled as the course was closed due to the heavy rain.  Davie Kirk won the last counting Wednesday Sweep for the Summer League on the 25th with an excellent 41 points.  Two shots further back was Lee Carter with the duo of Graeme Davie and Tommy Simpson taking third and fourth respectively after both players scored 38 points.  Lee’s second place saw him leapfrog Keith Fraser at the top of the table to claim the Summer League trophy.


The Open Sweepstake on the Sunday after the Shetland Open saw a repeat of the past Wednesday Sweep with Ross Chisholm taking first with 38 points from Andy Glen with 33 points.  The trio of Chris Conboy, Ian Sandilands and Dale Smith followed on 30 points.  The DITT Cup on the 11th saw Ross’s rich vein of form continue with another win with a (70) nett 65.  Ross’s 70 was also the lowest gross of the day.  Second, after count-back was David Nicol (76), edging out Grant Wiseman (75) and Billy Finnie (82) after all had shot nett 66’s.   


Jordan Leask won the Johnnie Walker trophy with a (69) nett 66, this also being the lowest gross score of the day.  Taking second was Treasurer Dave McNicol (78) nett 69 by virtue of count-back from the two Ross’s - Chisholm (74) and MacDougall (74).  Ross Chisholm’s fine form saw him partner up with Chris Conboy to claim the J. Bruce doubles.   


The August medal was claimed by Grant Wiseman with an excellent (72) nett 63 from Ernie Smith (73) nett 68 with the ever present Ross Chisholm third (74), after count-back from Stewart Tomlinson (79) after both shot nett 69’s.  The August Senior Medal saw a hat trick of medal wins for Davy L Thomson.

The final event of the month was the LJK Cup played off the forward tees, which saw a win for Derek Nicolson with a fine (77) nett 61, second was Jake Constable with a nett 62 (73) and after count-back Ian Pottinger (80) taking third from Archie Constable (90) with a nett 63.